Skip to content

Facebook contest – please vote.

October 8, 2012

I haven’t posted this week because I have been working hard on a Prismacolor art contest. There are some pretty awesome prizes, and I would love to win, so please vote for my piece here:

https://apps.facebook.com/prismacolorbtos/contests/290219/voteable_entries/59680957?post_id=1570287297_366276556791309#_=_

20121007-215102.jpg

The background was taken from a beautiful lake we went fishing at this summer.  The weather was so nice, and the area was gorgeous!  However, I’m not usually very good at drawing landscapes, so this was a huge stretch for me.  There were so many things in this picture that I struggled with, namely the amount of detail.  I started by sketching the image in pencil, then worked my way from the bottom up, background first, and saved the boy and dragon for last.  I broke a few art rules – like how you’re supposed to do the background before the forground, and a few others, but to keep myself from getting overwhelmed with the amount of detail in this drawing, I threw a lot of the workflow rules out and learned and experimented as I went.  I learned a few things, like, the next time I want to create a peice like this, I’m going to paint it.  I’m definetly more experienced at colored pencil, but  quite a few times while I was drawing this, I wished Prismacolor made paint, so I could just paint it.  ( one of the rules for the contest was that it had to be created with Prismacolor products )  Anyways, there are some absolutely beautiful images submitted by other artists in this contests, and I don’t know if I’ll win or not, but win or lose, I am happy with my drawing, that I completed it in time, and that I chose a drawing that really stretched my skills.  I didn’t even think I’d be able to pull off at all, let alone in time.

Anyways, I will be back to posting tutorials this week.  I made a block print and painted fabric baskets for a bookshelf, and I’m excited to share.  It’s a really fun and easy way to dress up or personalize fabric.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

