Skip to content

My Garden

October 5, 2011

It rained last night, and a bunch of seeds I planted last week came up.  I have carrots, peas, broccoli lettuce, and arugula up now, but I am most excited for the peas.

I found out about square foot gardening from a friend, and have decided that this is almost the only way to go – at least for me.  I haven’t had to pull any weeds, I save a ton on watering, and my plants flourish in the great soil.

I didn’t use Mel’s Mix, like the book says, but I bought some really good manure, and peat moss and mixed it with my dirt and have had pretty good success.  I just mix in compost when I plant something new to keep nutrients in the soil.  I also used 12″ wide planks, as it was still pretty economical.  I just bought 12′ x 4′ x 16’s at Lowe’s and had them cut them into 4′ planks and then I put them together.  We ate corn, tomatoes, squash, basil (i.e. pesto) home-made Pico de Gallo, cucumbers and melon all summer, and it was great!  For more info on square foot gardening, here’s the link – http://www.squarefootgardening.org/

Here’s what my square foot gardens look like – I have three.

  That huge bush/tree is my basil, and seriously, it’s big enough to offer shade.  It completely took over that 4′ x 4′ section, and now I’m not sure what to do with all that basil.  Does anyone want some free basil…. a lot of free basil?  Or know of a farmer’s market maybe that I could sell it in?

Anyways, if anyone wants to try gardening, I think it works a little differently in Arizona, as far as the weather and planting times go.  Here, you can plant almost all year.  Essentially, we plant our summer vegetables in the spring, a second round of many of the summer vegetables in late summer, our cold vegetables in early fall, then again in January or February.  For a more detailed calendar, I like this one. http://www.gardeninginarizona.com/calendar.html

Anyways, I love gardening, as it is very therapeutic, and so I wanted to share.  Here’s pics of my seedlings.  I’m having visions of broccoli, carrots, and peas dancing in my head.

I do have a portion of my garden that isn’t square foot, and this way has worked really well, too.  I used a soaker-hose connected to a timer on my faucet to conserve water and to make watering easy.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    October 5, 2011 7:02 pm

    So nice!! I’m so glad it worked out for you to do a bit of both. So you have your own compost pile? I think I just need some GOOD compost this time around. 🙂 Yay for gardening!!

    • October 5, 2011 7:04 pm

      Nope, no compost pile. We started one, and got roaches, even though we were very careful what we put in it, so that ended that. We buy a couple of different brands of compost, and sometimes I mix in a little plant food.

  2. October 7, 2011 3:03 pm

    We have a square foot garden too! Although the first frost will be in a few weeks here so it is the end of the season for us. Thanks for visiting! I am following you on twitter and liked your page on facebook.

    • October 7, 2011 4:47 pm

      Thanks! That is one redeeming thing about living in 116 degree heat and never getting snow – we can usually grow something all year round.
      I’m going to try to get my shopping done earlier this year. I bet it would make the Holidays so much more enjoyable, and less stressful.

Leave a Reply

