Skip to content

Toothbrushing cues

September 12, 2011

20110912-073313.jpg
This is what I’m working on now. Well, what I was working on late last night, and even though the mouth is off, it will get the job done.

So what is this? Let me tell you. The last time my kids went to the dentist, it cost me a pretty penny in dental work. Something had to be done, so we started having “teeth brushing parties,” where the whole family went in the bathroom together and brushed our teeth for two minutes.

It was then that I noticed that my kids weren’t getting to all of their teeth when they brushed. So, I downloaded this cool little app on my iPod that has a timer and highlights the area to be brushed. It worked really well – except for when my iPod was dead, and for the fact that you have 6 people trying to crowd around a little tiny iPod screen.

So, I decided to just use myself as a model, and point to my own teeth to show them where and for how long to brush. There were three problems with that idea. 1 – I have a small mouth and the kids couldn’t see the inside of my teeth well when I pointed to the back. 2 – My mouth became sore from holding it open for as long as I could (which brought on flashbacks to my own experience in the dentist’s chair). And 3 – have you ever tried talking with your finger in your mouth? Letting them know it was time to brush in a new place with my finger in my mouth was a pain.
So I am trying something new – cue cards. All I have to do is hold up the card that shows the area that needs to be brushed for the amount of time, and viola! All my problems will be solved and we will have world peace – at least in our house at teeth brushing time.
If anyone wants these, I’ll post them when I’m done, and the mouths shouldn’t be so screwy in the upcoming pictures.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 12, 2011 6:55 pm

    You are one creative Mama!! I am rollling about the brushing parties! I wish I would have thought of it many moons and thousands of dollars earlier.
    Super fun…great idea!

Leave a Reply

