Skip to content

Art As Therapy – The Benefits of Being Creative

August 25, 2011

I found a great article on using art for therapy.  If you want to read the full article, click on this link,

http://stress.about.com/od/funandgames/a/learningtodraw.htm

but here is the gist of it.

(From “Art Therapy: Relieve Stress By Being Creative” Do-It-Yourself Art Therapy, by Elizabeth Scott, M.S. – About.com Health’s Disease and Condition content is reviewed by the Medical Review Board)

“Art Therapy” is so effective, in large part, because it reduces stress.

1.  It provides a distraction.  Sometimes we need to get away from our problems, and when we become “engrossed” in our project, we forget what’s stressing us out for a little while.  When we are finished and come back to our problems, we can see them more clearly.

2.  When we get engrossed in our art project, we are in a near meditative states, which “carries many of the benefits of meditation, leaving you much less stressed when you’re done.”

3.  Having a hobby adds a balance to our lives.  We are doing a little bit of something for ourselves, amid all of our many responsibilities.

For ideas on how you can use art therapy to help reduce stress, click on the above link and you can read the rest of the article.

I have really noticed all of these benefits.  I noticed that when I am worrying about something, I can’t stop thinking about, and stressing over it.  When I draw, I feel better, forget about it for a while, and can really jump back into life.  The only time I have noticed a problem is  when I have stayed up all night painting and pay for it the next day.  Then benefit number three is less effective, as it has become out of balance.  I am going to commit to making sure I spend a little time during my day being creative to help reduce stress.  Maybe I’ll make it into an experiment, and not tell my family I’m doing it.  Then I’ll see if they notice a difference in how pleasant I am to be around when problems crop up.  Who’s with me?  If you want to experiment on your family by committing to using art therapy to reduce stress, or if you have a great story about how art has reduced your stress, please comment.

Don’t know where to start, here’s a great page on using a sketchbook.  The benefit of a  small sketchbook is that  you can easily take it with you and use it anywhere and any time.

http://drawsketch.about.com/cs/traveljournals/a/keepsketchbook.htm

One Comment leave one →
  1. August 26, 2011 8:23 pm

    So I don’t need to feel guilty scrapbooking…lol.

Leave a Reply

