Skip to content

The Homemade Magic Eraser That Doesn’t Fall Apart

September 21, 2011

There’s nothing like using the Magic Eraser and having it fall apart in your hands.  Yuck!  Well, I don’t like spending the money on them, and I really don’t like them falling apart, so I tried something new, and it’s all natural and works just as well.  I still have to use a little elbow grease, but I’ve gotten blood out of fabric, sharpie marker off of tile, and most importantly (in my house anyways) crayon off of walls.

And the best news is, I am pretty sure you have everything you need, so I set up a tutorial.

Note: This and almost any other washing technique that I know of doesn’t work well on flat paint, as it will take the paint off.  If your walls get dirty easily, you may want to paint with eggshell or satin paint so you can wash it.

You will need:  a wall or other space that is colored on (my kids have already provided ample amounts of this), baking soda, a small shallow bowl if you don’t want to devote the whole box to cleaning, a rag or washcloth, and some water.

This is my colored on wall – provided by one of my children.

Pour a small amount of baking soda into a shallow bowl.  If you pour it into one that has a lid, you can save any leftovers for your next clean up job.

Get the rag wet and ring it out.  You don’t want it so dry that it won’t clean, but you really don’t want it dripping or leaving a lot of excess water.

Dip a part of the rag into the baking soda.

Baking Soda will collect onto the rag.  This is what you will use to scrub.

Start scrubbing the crayon or other stain off of the surface.  You will need to use a little elbow grease – this isn’t real magic, after all.  It will start to fade, and then disappear.

If the rag or washcloth stops working as well, find a new spot on the rag, and dip back into the baking soda and start scrubbing again.  If the rag gets too dry, or too much baking soda on it, or too dirty, wet it with water again, ring it out and start again.

You may notice a little bit of paint on your rag, but if you have satin or eggshell paint, it shouldn’t be much, and you shouldn’t be able to see any difference in the wall – except that it’s cleaner, hopefully.  If you scrub like a maniac, I’m sure you could get paint off, but it’s never happened to me.  You might want to try it out somewhere small first to make sure you don’t get a bald spot in your paint job.

Once you are done cleaning the area, you may notice white streaks, left by the baking soda, especially if you used a lot and if you have dark paint.  Just get the rag wet, ring it out, and go over the area without baking soda.  This should get rid of any leftover baking soda on your wall.

Here’s the after picture:

Looks pretty good, and it only took me 10 minutes at the most.

My daughter drew all over her walls, and we had it cleaned up in no time.

If you want to use this on fabric, this is what I did.

I took a clean rag, wet it, rung it out and dipped it into the baking soda, just like the tutorial.  I scrubbed the area hard.  I didn’t notice any change, so I just brushed off the baking soda and left it.

A little while later, I noticed that the stain had spread and the edges were blurry, so I took another clean rag, wet a corner with cold water, and scrubbed the area again, this time without the baking soda.  As I scrubbed, it started to fade, but I had to scrub pretty vigorously.  It is now all but gone.  It’s definitely worth trying on items that can only be spot cleaned if they are strong enough to be able to withstand a little scrubbing.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Carrie permalink
    September 21, 2011 8:20 pm

    Thank you! I used this to take sharpie off my counter tops, but i just used a drop of water and some baking soda to make a paste. I never thought of using it on other things!! Very cool. :)

  2. Andrea permalink
    August 1, 2012 1:57 am

    Rubbing alcohol will get permanent marker out almost anything. I am going to try this technique because my little Picasso has managed to use every single writing utensil style on the walls: crayon, chalk, gel pen, pencil, permanent marker, and yes even deodorant. (don’t ask)

    • September 25, 2012 6:33 pm

      Haha! I’ve got a Picasso, too. I’ve had four. While I’m cleaning the walls, I think it’s more to give them a clean canvas more than actually to have a clean wall, because they don’t seem clean long enough for anyone to actually see them.

  3. Claudia permalink
    September 7, 2012 5:20 pm

    Dryer cloths also work on crayon. Alcohol works on sharpies.

  4. October 3, 2012 6:42 pm

    this works so well, thank you!! found you on pinterest.

  5. Marie Carpenter permalink
    October 27, 2012 10:40 pm

    When my kids were little, I just used a hair dryer to warn the crayon, and then a rag to wipe it away!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

